12.12.2016 – Finalists for the 2017 UK New Zealander of the Year Announced


Finalists for the prestigious UK New Zealander of the Year Award 2017 (proudly sponsored by Air New Zealand) were announced in London this week.

The three finalists are, Jane Thomas, for her tireless work to champion the New Zealand World War 100 (WW100) commemorations in the UK and with her incredible support and energy she has been behind the WW1 commemorative window at Brockenhurst and numerous projects associated with the NZ Number 1,2 &3 hospitals at Brockenhurst, Codford and Walton-on-Thames: Lady Alexandra Smith, for the outstanding support she has provided in her role as the wife of our New Zealand High Commissioner in London, raising the threshold of service and establishing herself as incredible charitable fundraiser and supporter of innumerable projects to promote NZ in the UK and Stella Duffy who is a writer, a theatremaker, founder and co-director of the Fun Places Campaign.

The New Zealand Society (UK) are proud to recognize these finalists for their personal contribution in the UK to promoting the interests of New Zealand or New Zealanders.

The Award, which was established by the New Zealand Society in 1999, will be presented to the winner at the annual New Zealand Society’s Waitangi Day Charity Ball in The Ballroom of The Jumeirah Carlton, Knightsbridge, on Friday 3rd February 2017.

Robyn Allardice-Bourne, President of the New Zealand Society (UK) commented: “It is with great pride that the New Zealand Society (UK) in association with Air New Zealand presents this prestigious award.  Nominations were called for from the UK New Zealand community, and we were delighted to receive 11 nominations for the 2017 honour.  Nominations were received for individuals who promote the interests of New Zealand in the UK, within the areas of business, music, community services, arts and culture, sport and academia.  It was unanimous amongst the Judging Panel that all three finalists are great ambassadors of New Zealand in the United Kingdom and make valued contributions to our community.”

Previous winners have included: Mark Wilson, Katherine Corich, Eric Tracey, Bronwen Horton, Kent Gardner, Terry Smith, Anna Hansen MBE, Esther Kerr Jessop QSM, Dr Ian Conrich, Jonathan Rennie, Tom & Susan Glynn, Peter Leslie, Dame Judith Mayhew Jones, The Rt. Hon Don McKinnon, (The late) Harry Mahon OBE, Michael Campbell CNZM, Sir Mark Todd and Peter Gordon ONZM.

Tickets are available for the New Zealand Society’s (UK) Waitangi Day Charity Ball and these can be booked here www.musicglue.com/new-zealand-society-uk/events/

Full press release available: nz-press-release-on-finalists-nz-2017

The UK New Zealander of the Year Award 2017 is proudly sponsored by

Air New Zealand Proud sponsors of UK New Zealander of the Year Award

Speak Your Mind