2015 UK New Zealander Announced

The search for the UK New Zealander of the Year Award 2015 is now over.

The New Zealand Society is proud and delighted to announce that the 2015 winner of the UK New Zealander of the Year Award is Katherine Corich.   The Award was announced at the New Zealand Society’s Waitangi Day Charity Ball at The Park Lane Hotel Piccadilly, London on Friday evening, 6 February 2015 and presented by Mr Kim Walbridge of Air New Zealand, together with His Excellency the High Commissioner for New Zealand the Rt Hon Sir Lockwood Smith, and Mrs Tania Bearsley the President of the New Zealand Society (2013-2015).

The award recognises the outstanding contribution that a New Zealand or British national has made in promoting the interests of New Zealand or New Zealanders in the United Kingdom.

Katherine Corich received the 2015 Award in recognition of her outstanding contribution to New Zealanders in the UK and in New Zealand, and for presenting a positive image of New Zealand in the United Kingdom.  Nominated for her contributions to New Zealand business, community and fundraising causes.  Katherine Corich founded the Sysdoc group 25 years ago and has grown it into a global multi-award winning provider of services in Business Transformation, Cultural Change, Training, Simulated Learning and Knowledge Portals. With operations in four countries; UK, US, Australia and New Zealand, and projects in many more.

Despite the demands of an internationally recognised and successful business, Katherine tirelessly shares her knowledge with others, and demonstrates her pride in New Zealand and desire for New Zealanders global success by giving of her advice and support on a regular basis.  Her Philanthropic ventures have seen her take on a worldwide view on issues which affect women and their communities.  In recent years Katherine has provided support to a number of boards and projects: The Quake Studies Advisory Board, Global Women Leaders, Women In Leadership, Global Angels, Kea World Class New Zealander network, University of Canterbury’s CEISMIC digital archive programme.

Katherine will have the right to be recognised as the UK New Zealander of the Year 2015, and will receive return flights for two (2) from the UK to New Zealand, courtesy of our kind sponsors, Air New Zealand.

We also offer our congratulations to Clint Heine and Professor Janet Wilson who were the runners up for the Award.  Both Clint and Professor Wilson are recognised for their significant contributions made in the field of Community Services and Literature.

Past winners of the Award have included Eric Tracey (Chair of UK Friends of Auckland University, Acting Chair Christchurch Earthquake Appeal UK, Former Chair NZTE European Beachheads Programme, co-founder former NZICA), Bronwen Horton (Founder of the New Zealand Business Women’s Network), Kent Gardner (Chief Executive of Evans Randall and major fundraiser for the Canterbury Earthquake Appeal), Terry Smith, (Chairman of Sir Keith Park’s Memorial Campaign and Chief Executive of Fundsmith), Anna Hansen MBE (chef, restaurateur and founder of The Modern Pantry restaurant in London), Esther Kerr-Jessop QSM (founder of the London Maori cultural group, Ngati Ranana), Dr Ian Conrich, Jonathan Rennie (New Zealand war memorial architect), Susan and Tom Glynn (restaurateurs and founders of Suze in Mayfair), Peter Leslie (the founding President of the New Zealand Society in Scotland), Dame Judith Mayhew Jonas (Chairman of Policy and Resources of the City of London Corporation and the first woman Provost of King’s College, Cambridge), (The late) Harry Mahon OBEMichael Campbell (professional golfer), The Rt. Hon. Don McKinnon (Secretary-General of the Commonwealth); Sir Mark Todd (Olympic and international equestrian even rider) and Peter Gordon ONZM (celebrity chef and restaurateur, and founder of The Providores and Kopapa restaurants).

Speak Your Mind